Father’s Day

Standard

It’s sneaking up on us. And of course, we’re moving this weekend, so it might get lost in all the chaos. But I’ll make it up to J.

C was practicing saying “dadadadadada” yesterday and I was thinking of all the ways that we refer to our fathers.

I refer to mine as Dad, Daddy, Father, Faja, and Old Man. We have friends whose twins called their father Dat for awhile. J will start out being called Dada, but what will it turn into? What will C decide to call him?

What do you call yours? What terms do you use? Is it just the typical ones [Father, Dad, Daddy]? Are there inside jokes [Faja, Old Man]? Are there names from a different language? What about your grandfathers? Mine were Papa and Nano. C’s are the same. J’s dad is Papa, and my dad has adopted the term we used for his dad, Nano.

Feel free to share below what terms you use or do use, and be sure to share stories or explanations!

9 responses »

  1. Happy Father’s Day! 🙂

    My dad was always Papa Bear (not sure how it started, but we start every phone convo like that). I’m his “Baby Girl.” 🙂

    My grandparents were Grandma and Pop-Pop; my husband’s were Gram and Pap.

    It’s an exciting time to celebrate and honor all the important dudes out there. Hope you have a great weekend!

    • Hey Wendy! Thanks for sharing. Happy Father’s Day to your Dad-to-be!
      Papa Bear and Baby Girl. Too sweet!
      I’ll bet you’re excited to see what little “Z” will be calling his daddy!

  2. Hey! Love this post about dads! Liv started saying dadadada the other week too. As for me… my real dad was a jerk but i have an awesome step-father. I call him Kevin but whenever he e-mails me or signs a card to me, he signs it “Stad” for step-dad.
    I called my grandfathers Pop-Pop and Grandpop.

    • Thanks Traci! It’s so fun to watch our little ones starting to figure these things out, isn’t it?
      That sucks that your real dad was a jerk, but at least your step-dad came through.
      I love the term “Stad”! That’s awesome.

  3. Pretty simple here – we call my dad just Dad and my grandfather is Grandpa. My son calls his grandfather (my Dad) Poppa and his dad is just Dad or Daddy (about 100+ times a day lol)

  4. Hey! Love this post about dads! Liv started saying dadadada the other week too. As for me… my real dad was a jerk but i have an awesome step-father. I call him Kevin but whenever he e-mails me or signs a card to me, he signs it “Stad” for step-dad.I called my grandfathers Pop-Pop and Grandpop.
    +1

  5. For the most part I’ve always called my Dad..Dad. Occasionally he’ll be pop…more often than not though it’ll also be Daaaa….sort of drawn out.

Leave a Reply

