Baby Carriers

Standard

I wanted to run some errands this afternoon. But that dream got squished when J called me when he got back to work. He had come home to have lunch with me [the benefit of only working 5 minutes from home] and when he left, he accidentally grabbed his keys and mine! Which meant I was out of a car. Boo urns.

So I changed the game plan. We’d go for a walk. But the stroller is in the car. Right. No keys.

Insert the joy of having my carrier! It’s a Half Buckle Tai from Two Mommas Designs. Now, for those of who that sounds complicated to, I’ll elaborate.

Carrying a baby on you has always been helpful. I mean, we’ve all seen the Baby Bjorn or those framed backpacks. If you’re on a trip, at the zoo, or hiking… having your hands free is a great thing!

Well if you begin to research baby wearing, you’ll find that you can be overwhelmed with the amount of carriers you can use and the different places you can buy them. The Internet holds so much information!

So we tried a stretchy wrap. I registered for it, had heard good things, and wanted to try it. It was great when he was little. I could wrap him up all snuggly-like and take off. I used it a few times, but it was complicated to wrap around yourself for a quick trip. And then he got bigger… and it got less comfortable. He fought it. So I stopped using it. [I want to say thank you to the friend who bought it for us, if you’re reading. We loved it!]

But I knew I wanted another carrier. I liked the idea of not using the stroller for some outings or just strapping him to me to go for a walk. But where to begin? I did a bit of Googling, got overwhelmed, and asked the mommas in my Nov 09 birth board on Babycenter for help. I knew that quite a few of them had some expertise in the area.

They recommended a mei tai style carrier. For those of you who have no idea what that means, let me explain. It’s a soft structured carrier. So it has no frame. Mine is made from a heavy cotton material. The mei tai aspect comes from the straps. There are two that go around your waist and two that go around your shoulders. These are just long pieces of fabric that you wrap and tie. Now this might sound simple and you’re probably thinking that I could make it. But remember that it has to carry my baby in it. I’m not going to play around with that. I’ll let someone who makes them for a living do it.

Well, now I needed to know where to buy one from. There are so many sites that sell them and there are manufactured ones or ones made by mom’s who work at home [WAHM]. I went with WAHM. One of the mommas from the boards recommended Two Mommas Designs. They have a style called a Half Buckle Tai. So it had the traditional ties for the shoulder strap [but they’re padded] and it had a buckle waist band [also padded]. I checked out their site, I read reviews, I pondered it, and decided to go for it. Now I had to get J on board and I did.

So I ordered one. Picked out my fabric. Added a sleep hood [you can tie it so that it blocks the sun from your baby slash covers them when they’re sleeping]. Added a pocked on the front. And then had to wait… patiently… or impatiently. All my friends had to hear about it.

And I love it! It is so comfortable. I’ve used it grocery shopping [it’s nice to have two hands to push the cart], around the mall, and for walks. C loves it. It’s so nice and I know I’m going to get lots of use out of it over the next few years. I can’t wait till he’s a little bit bigger and I can put him on my back. It’s going to make our trip to the zoo so much easier this summer.

So, back to my walk that started all this.

We walked to the bank. Chatted with the teller. Got told how cute C is [he really is!]. And walked for over an hour. C, of course, fell asleep about 5 minutes from home. Why he couldn’t have done that earlier, we’ll never know. But such is life with babies. What’s great is that after walking for an hour with him strapped to the front of me, my back didn’t and doesn’t hurt.

Now, go buy yourself one!!

8 responses »

  1. We’re in the same birthclub on BBC! (that must be how I found your blog…lol) We love our moby’s & lillebaby everywear carrier. A soft structured carrier much more manly than a wrap, so daddy can wear it. It’s really great because you can wear it on the front, back, or hip & the baby can face out on your front, too. It almost has the versatility of a wrap! The weight limit is something insane like 42 pounds. If the daddy J is ever interested in wearing C, you may want to check it out =D

  2. That’s awesome, Hope! Thanks! I’ll have to check it out and see if J is interested. Do you have a link?
    And funny how you found your way over here from our birthclub. You must have just stumbled on it somehow. :c)

  3. LOL ok so I’m also a Nov 09 mommy and I’m on the same BBC birth board as well so its just really funny I would find you !
    I ordered my half buckle today and am waiting….. as you mentioned rather impatienly for it to arrive ! I’m so glad to heard that it was wonderful for your back and felt great I have heard such good things about them !
    I hope you enjoy using it for years to come !

    • That’s awesome! I’m sure you’ll love it when it comes in! What fabric did you choose? Mine is the olive coriander.
      Thanks for finding your way over here! It’s exciting to see Nov mommies here.

  4. I’m also from the Nov 09 Birth Club. I’ve been researching babywearing for a while now, and thanks to your post I think I’m convinced to go with Two Mammas Designs. Thanks for sharing!

    • That’s awesome, Laura! I promise that you’ll love it. And the ladies are so great and will answer any questions that you have. You’ll have to let me know which fabric you choose!

  5. I too am from the same board and we’ve actually talked before. Our babies were born on the same day. I just ordered my Mei Tai. I ended up getting a regular one, but would love to get a half buckle as well.

    I do have a woven wrap. It’s beautiful, but I just haven’t sat down to figure out how to wear it. I know there’s lot of good videos, but I guess I’m too lazy!

    You’re right about all the information out there, not just about babywearing, but all things baby related. I like to do my “research” before buying certain things and it usually leaves me more confused!

    I’m glad to hear it’s easy using the Mei Tai! I hope JT likes it as much as C!

    • Hey! Thanks for finding your way over here! Yay for Nov 5th babies!
      I hope you enjoy your Mei Tai. I was a little nervous because I hadn’t seen one in person. But I’m so glad I went for it!
      I remember talking about your woven wrap. I’m sure once you figure out how to use it, you’ll love it. But if you don’t… I’m sure I can find a home for it! ;c)

      It’s true how there’s so much information about everything baby related! It’s overwhelming. And I find the worst is if you try to Google something that you think might be wrong medically. It’s the worst!

Leave a Reply

